RSS

I DONT EVEN KNOW WHAT TO CALL THIS ONE!

08 Feb

Dear Doris,

It has been a long while since I last wrote you a letter. It haunts me every time! I wish you could send me pictures so I could see your beautiful face.

I think I am a terrible person… This is because:  57

Touts are naturally rude and I have been programmed to think all of them are.  Its late in the evening, about 8:30pm. I forgot my phone at home earlier so I am rushing back to see how many people tried contacting me. 

A tout screams.. "thirty Kile… thirty Kile… thirty Kile… thirty Kile" !! After getting out of town this man asks me for my money. I give him 30 bob like he screamed before…

"Ni 40!!" He says with no smile!! I don't know how to argue so i take out  two five bob coins and rudely hand them to him. It was not my fault he wasnt looking. This saw the two coins drop on the floor and disappear!! 

'mbona unanitesa??!" the tout asks with a woiye face. 

"jameni, haki!!" a nosey woman spits from the back of the matatu.

I do not say sorry!! My insides were burning now that we weren't getting to my stop!! All this time the tout is being nice to everyone!! Saying goodnight to alighting passengers and making conversation with the ones still on!! He is weirdly kind… Dishing out compliments to everyone and being funny!! I get off and he gives me back my two 5 bobs… then says

"Nitakuongezea hiyo 10 bob." 

The walk to the house was endless!!!

Maybe its for that reason I almost burnt myself to death with hot water today morning!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “I DONT EVEN KNOW WHAT TO CALL THIS ONE!

  1. Savvykenya

    February 10, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    wow, he gave u back your 10bob! Did u say thanks?

     

Leave a Reply

 
