RSS

WHAT A COVER CAN SAY

12 May

Dear Doris,

I was thinking! Who came up with the line, ‘DONT JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER’?

If you are not allowed to judge a book by its cover, then WHAT IS THE COVER FOR!??

You can tell most of the story from the cover… If the cover says ‘PRIMARY MATHS’ You definitely know what the book is about and shouldnt open it!! Maybe I am not looking at this with the depth it deserves to be looked at!!

Let me dig deeper!

You already know this ‘teaches’ us not to prejudge people by its outward appearance alone…

Here is how I see it…

When I meet a woman, I can almost tell the kind of person she is by what she is wearing, her size, her eyes, her handbag, her teeth, her dress… Jewelry etc If you don’t judge that book by its cover, you might end up with a trick! If that woman’s waits is the size of your thumb and she has on boots that go up till her thigh and clothes that can’t cover a doll… Shes probably not the woman for you… and you should proceed with caution! Then again she might be the kindest woman in the world and holds a masters in aeronautical engineering.. Just maybe! But if she’s not, you are ready!

Look at love at first sight, if it does exist… THAT IS TOTALLY JUDGING THE BOOK BY THE COVER!!

I have realized I don’t know what I am saying!! I am contradicting myself!

Restarting train of thought…

I guess what I am trying to say is… What am I trying to say!?

I am an artist, I work for a publishing firm, Storymoja Africa, one of the things I do is design covers, some guy somewhere saying you can’t judge a book by its cover is trying to have me jobless!

I design covers from the story… People might interpret it differently… It’s not like God fitted us with the same brain…

Judge that book by the cover, just use the body to confirm… Sometimes the cover gives you what the pages cant… The cover will give you something to believe in.

One’s smile can hide a geyser  of tears… but there is hope that somewhere deep within, there is a true smile. You cannot give a fake smile unless you know how the real one looks like… Right?

Ok now I am sure I have no idea what I am talking about!

True story: This once I went to meet my cousin Abi at Dormans, and on her table was this huge purple hand-bag. It wasnt Abi’s, she doesn’t do hand-bags, it belonged to her friend who was out, looking for an Mpesa place. I told her I was going to like whoever owned that bag…

She is now my girlfriend, the lady who owned the hand-bag, and not once have I regretted my first judgement! She was everything I thought she would be…

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2011 in big beautiful women, love, self help

 

9 responses to “WHAT A COVER CAN SAY

  1. littleknownpoet

    May 12, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    apart from the random leg, I really love this one. It seems so for real.

     
  2. mydeardoris

    May 12, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    Random leg?? look at you judging the book by its cover =)

     
  3. WK

    May 12, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    Wow i can so relate with this particular blog….yap I judge books by their covers and am rarely disappointed!!! Covers are good judgers and on very few occasions have i been mislead by the cover….I love what you said about fake and real smiles :):)

     
  4. Ed

    May 13, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Good one Ian. Interesting thoughts. So you have to read all the books you design covers for in advance?

     
    • mydeardoris

      May 13, 2011 at 4:36 pm

      Thanks WK, always good to know someone somewhere is reading =)

       
    • mydeardoris

      May 13, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      Yes Ed, way in advance, sometimes before its even finished. I have to read from the dedication page to the glossary… I am the one laying out the book anyway… so i have to read wether I like it or not!

       
  5. Ruman

    May 16, 2011 at 11:11 am

    I’m going to start carrying around that purple bag more often 🙂 I love you.

     
  6. rita onyango

    July 4, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    i really do feel this one! great!

     

Leave a Reply

 
