RSS

RAPOGI vs BARDING

05 Dec

Dear Doris,

I am writing this letter with extreme pain… A fire is starting in my throat! I will not cry though!

Do not worry, it’s not you…

So, we have a new guest in my house… His name is Kevin. Recently we have been having numerous guests… our house feels like THE ASK SHOW!! You wake up in the morning and there is a zoo downstairs…

Anyhu…

So Kevin is from my shagz. “He is a very responsible boy.” Mama said two days to his arrival… “He is the

The man standing on the far right is a cook called Oluda and the one on the far right is the day watchman... I dont know the one in the middle!

The man standing on the far right is a cook called Oluda and the one on the far right is the day watchman... I dont know the one in the middle!

school captain of his school….” she added! Kevin goes to St. Joseph’s Rapogi Secondary School. I know not many of you know of this school… In fact, I am sure 90% of the people reading this have never heard of the school… If you read the link, you will see that it is a provincial secondary school for boys situated in Sare in the Nyanza Province of Western Kenya[1] It is in the Migori district which was later split into Uriri, Rongo, Migori, and Kuria districts.The school specifically now in Uriri District. (wikipedia) Thing is, this school is on Wikipedia… You might be asking yourself where I am going with this…

Let me explain…

Yesterday Kevin and I were talking over supper… there is not much you can discuss with a high school student from Rapogi who you have never met before apart from HIGH SCHOOl… He is a cool kid… Then he goes like, “where did you go to school…”

This was the few times I was comfortable with this question… Normally being asked this question by people who went to Nairobi School and Hillcrest and God knows which schools… ITS QUITE INTIMIDATING! This time, someone who could understand…

“Barding High School…” I respond with confidence!! Please not that whatever is about to happen, is the reason for my sadness…

“which school is that?” Kevin asks in absolute innocence… ‘Is it in Kenya?” he continues to wound my already broken heart…

Not only don’t the posh kids know my school… EVEN THE ONES FROM SARE HAVE NO CLUE WHICH SCHOOL THIS IS…

I left the table a broken man…

I am now creating a new article on Wikipedia for BARDING SECONDARY SCHOOL… We might not have had water or electricity or proper medical care  with numerous bed bugs and elevated death rates… BUT.. Just BUT!

MORE NEWS:

I am starting to think ‘LOUIS THE PEST’ is a DOOM INSECTICIDE employee… He is in all the ads but never dies! I have seen him in three ads… Only two explanations… either he is being paid or DOOM Insecticide does not work…

P.S The chic I wrote about on ‘DATES THAT ARE BLIND’ follows this BLOG! I am quite scared!

 
28 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in barding tales, random

 

Tags: , , , , ,

28 responses to “RAPOGI vs BARDING

  1. savvy

    December 5, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    Did she graduate from Packages… I mean the chick from blind dates?

    I know Rapogi, I had a classmate from there and my younger bro went there too.. but Barding?!! What a name.. Barding Boarding School :0

     
    • mydeardoris

      December 5, 2011 at 4:00 pm

      😦 do you know Barding? I dont know if she finished… haha! Savvy Kenya you are out to get me into trouble!!

       
  2. vαllєríє (@_Vallerrie_)

    December 5, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    I know Rapogi, mainly because I went to Rapogi Girls Primary myself, from around class 6, it was a punishment, long story. Anyhoo I like how I identify with your stories 🙂

     
  3. viruSDetected

    December 5, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I know Rapogi…cos I’m from Nyanza myself but I’ve never heard of Barding

     
    • mydeardoris

      December 5, 2011 at 4:19 pm

      you people stop with the breaking of my heart… Ngai!!!

       
  4. Elsie

    December 5, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    I love you Ian, you make me so happy:-)

     
    • mydeardoris

      December 5, 2011 at 5:31 pm

      hahaha! I love you too cuz…

       
  5. D.od

    December 5, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    never heard of either school… my bad:-)

     
  6. RAMA

    December 6, 2011 at 8:28 am

    i know Rapogi but never heard of Barding Secondary School….. is it in Kenya Lol!!!!!

     
    • mydeardoris

      December 6, 2011 at 9:15 am

      our principal was called Rama… haha! coincidence much!

       
    • dina

      October 8, 2014 at 10:52 pm

      yeah it is in siaya county in kenya, the county of greater brains all over the world dat means dat the skul iz alxo great

       
  7. UrbaneKenyan

    December 6, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Dude, you’s one funny and creative fella. Good Stuff!

     
  8. proboxsucceed

    December 6, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Its like a tweng for BOARDING…. BARDING Sec…..

     
  9. boobykizzy

    December 6, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    I am starting to think ‘LOUIS THE PEST’ is a DOOM INSECTICIDE employee… He is in all the ads but never dies! I have seen him in three ads… Only two explanations… either he is being paid or DOOM Insecticide does not work… you are my new role model

     
  10. mmnjug

    December 7, 2011 at 9:46 am

    Ok………. Barding, has it ever starred in the newspapers….you know…. KCSE Results or strikes…., easiest way for a school to be know….no?

     
    • sam

      August 3, 2012 at 5:07 pm

      barding was no 63 KCSE 2000, google

       
  11. hardenuff

    December 9, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    I know Barding..most people know it…esp i you know #interestinglylewdboys from Nyanza. Which year did you finish. Dont worry, i went to a very good school, but i know yours…

     
  12. malaika644

    December 13, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    I’ve come back to re-read this kadha times and I laugh out loud each time. I award you a pacemaker for your broken heart.

     
  13. rita onyango

    December 20, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    lol…oh boy..you kill me!!!!! anyho…i know barding it is in alego… Dont let these pple break your heart,,, you can be an ambassodor of your school!!!

    PS: i love the way you are not shy about saying which school you went to!

     
  14. Nimmo

    January 12, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    Walalala,ths blog is unbelievable.u made me totaly laugh my heart out.gd stuff,we ni mwenda

     
  15. Rhoda

    May 9, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    Hahahaha Ian I feel you, everytime I told my friends in kile(most of whom were in riara or lcvr) which high school I went to-they’d ask ”LWAK, are those initials for something or is that it?”:D

     
  16. Jorim

    August 3, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    learnt at Barding 04

     
  17. maxwell

    March 1, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    am frm barding its a cool school

     
  18. george

    July 3, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    Very hilarious man!I’ve heard of your school.But to insinuate that ninety prcnt ov da ppl who’re readin this av never heard of Rapogi….In 2005,a day after kcse of ’04 ws released the headline of one of the leadin dailies ws:”Maseno falls to Rapogi in western”.Rapogi has reached national lvl in music fstvl,hockey etc severaly…in short St Joseph’s Rapogi hs excelled in both carricular n co-carriclr!

     
  19. pundi

    February 6, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    There really is a barding secondary school? that picture is not photoshoped?

     
  20. David Ndubi

    March 5, 2014 at 9:34 am

    Barding n Rapogi are performing schools in kcse 2013 released march 3rd 2014 Barding took pos. 55 n Rapogi pos. 44 kudo

     

Leave a Reply

 
